Hanny

John Focke
7 min readDec 19, 2020

--

Courtesy of Al Flom Wolves Radio Network

Longtime Minnesota broadcaster Tom Hanneman passed away unexpectedly this week. Tom was a fixture on televisions and radios across the upper Midwest during his career with WCCO and the Minnesota Timberwolves. I was fortunate to call Tom a friend and took some time to reflect on the impact he had on my career and my life…

The first time I met Tom Hanneman I was in high school. Obsessed with the NBA and my dream to be an NBA broadcaster. It was late in Kevin Harlan’s final season as the voice of the Wolves. After the game my friends and I made our way down to the courtside location where Tom & Kevin were finishing up the postgame show. I managed to talk my way past security and get both of my broadcast idols to sign my Howl card. The two couldn’t have been nicer, more friendly or more encouraging when I said I wanted to be an NBA broadcaster someday. That card is still on my bedroom wall back at my parents’ house.

The next time I met Tom I was a young broadcaster in my first job out of college. I was working for a small station in southern Minnesota and was up at Target Center for Wolves media day. This was back when the players just sort of mingled with the media on the practice court. Everyone was wandering around looking for the big names when I happened to see Tom. I stopped and said “Hello Tom!” We began to chat as if we were old friends, which we were to me, having welcomed him into my living room for so many broadcasts. Finally, after a few minutes Tom stopped me and innocently said “I’m sorry, but do we know each other?” I explained how I watch the games and felt like we did. He laughed and we continued to chat as if we actually did know each other.

A number of years later I was fortunate enough to land an opportunity with the Wolves broadcast department. Tom’s office was just down the hall, you had to walk past it every time you came into our department. You couldn’t walk past without Tom tossing a joke or pulling a prank/gag on you. Every time I walked in; I was laughing by the time I got to our studio thanks to Tom.

With dreams of becoming an NBA play by play voice, I watched closely how Tom worked. I took opportunities to pick his brain about certain things, and observed his preparation for broadcasts. No one was more prepared than Hanny. As any broadcaster will tell you, you probably only use 10% on air but you better be prepared for anything because you don’t know what 10% you’ll use. Tom has notes on everyone. Being in the league as long as he was, he could have just relied on his overall knowledge but that was not Tom. He prepared for every game like it was his first, and he always crafted the most creative opens, full of alliterations and puns.

Tom’s stories were legendary, he had been part of the Wolves broadcast department since its inception. The level of coverage they managed to pull off, with the equipment of the day, always blew me away. An around the league segment where reporters from around the country called in on land lines to record an update from the game they were covering. Played back on carts or reel to reel? They made it happen! Building NBA radio from the ground up in a studio beneath Target Center, hosting the All-Star Game & playoff coverage from 600 First Ave. They did it. The crew working those nights graduated into jobs around the league and beyond. They worked hard, but they also had an incredible amount of fun. Pulling pranks on each other, creating characters who joined the broadcasts to keep listeners coming back despite the team’s early struggles.

I never asked Tom to become my mentor, I don’t think he would have liked that formality. Instead, it just evolved that way. I observed how he interacted not only with players and coaches but broadcasters from around the league. He knew everyone’s names, their kid’s names, he stopped to chat and share insight with them before games. He introduced me to other broadcasters and PR folks helping to grow my network within the league. Tom knew what my goal was and always helped make a connection when he could.

My first trip to the NBA broadcast meetings was also my first trip to New York City. Knowing that, Tom suggested that when we landed, we go on a tour of the city. He and I walked through Central Park, bought street food, stopped for sweets at some of the famous spots. Along the way Tom was looking for a purse for his wife, Nancy. We stopped at different places and Tom had me in tears laughing as he paraded around with different purses to see if he thought Nancy would like them.

In my first season as the Producer for the Wolves Radio Network I was pressed into duty calling games due to an illness to our radio broadcaster Alan Horton. I had to fly to meet the team in Sacramento to call a game there & LA. When I got to town Tom immediately invited me out to dinner with the TV/PR crew. I went from feeling overwhelmed and nervous to feeling like I was part of the road family. Between Tom & Billy McKinney they guided me through my first charter team flight, team hotel, road media dining experience and so much more.

Over the years I watched as Tom’s role within the organization changed. From TV play by play to host of the pregame, halftime and postgame show. While we were doing our show on the radio, I always watched how Tom addressed the camera. He had such a welcoming way about him and the way he interacted with the analyst and other reporters on air. He knew exactly where he was going at all times, seamlessly guiding the show along no matter what may have been thrown in at the last minute.

As I got the opportunity to do some TV work, I wanted to emulate that welcoming manner Tom had. He could talk and smile at the same time. Not an easy thing to do. He could express emotion with his eyes and his brow, so that even if you had the sound off you could understand what was going on. I watched and worked on it but it never looked or felt as natural to me as it did watching Tom.

Tom handled the changes with grace and professionalism. He prepared for the pregame show as if he was calling the game. Had stories and notes on hand for every situation. Sometimes we would finish our show early and I’d catch the last few minutes of his postgame and he would end the show with a note that would leave me kicking myself…why hadn’t I thought of that?!

When I lost my job, Tom reached out via text. I remember it well. “John, I want to talk. But not until you are ready. Please let me know and we can set something up.” Whether I was ready or not I knew I wanted to talk to Tom. We got on the phone a few days later and that began a series of conversations we had in the weeks leading to his passing.

We talked about how to deal with losing your job, we talked about family (Tom loved his family more than anything. He loved his wife, kids and grandkids so much). We talked about transition times, what could be next, what’s important to us. He cracked jokes and left me laughing. I so looked forward to those chats and always hung up feeling uplifted, like hey I can get through this.

When I heard the news of his passing it stopped me in my tracks. Tears sprang to my eyes; I literally couldn’t move. My body felt like it was in slow motion. I thought of his family and was gutted for them. I thought to myself, but I’m not ready to be done talking to Tom. I need those conversations and text messages. I know if I’m not ready, his family certainly isn’t ready. I just felt so sad.

Then I thought back to a few weeks ago when Tom was named a Silver Circle Honoree at the Midwest Regional Emmy’s. It was a moment to celebrate his entire career and all that he meant to viewers and listeners in the region. In classic Tom fashion as he accepted the honor his first line was “I hope you all have 45 minutes because I’d like to talk to you about time shares…” a wry smile on his face.

I was so happy he got that moment. I watched on social media as so many people reached out to him and to honor his career. Tom never wanted the spotlight. His work, in my mind, was defined by preparation, professionalism and fun. That’s why it was so great to see everyone take a moment to honor him and tell him how much they appreciated him.

It always felt like Tom took a special interest in my career and life but as I watch the outpouring of support for him, I realize I am not the only one who felt that way. He took a special interest in everyone he met, and that was what made Tom such a special person.

--

--

John Focke

Former NBA/WNBA broadcaster, avid trail runner, endurance athlete, backpacker, and lover of all silent sports.